top of page

Q&A 2019


What are the most important aspects of designing a bedroom?

In my opinion, it is important to think about serenity, identity, and tidiness when designing a bedroom. Your bedroom is a place that reflects your likes and identity. It should be a place where you feel comfortable and serene.

Now, when I think of serenity I see lots of whites, warm wood tones, and pastel colors since these radiate calmness for me personally. Nonetheless, a bedroom could be colorful, have an outspoken wallpaper or darker tones.


Which countertop material would you use in your own kitchen?

When I have my own home one day, I would go for a white composite as a countertop in my kitchen. With a composite, you can create the look of a natural stone countertop with better stain resistance, colorfastness and thinner look.


Do you prefer a rectangular desk or a corner desk?

This was a question that I hadn't thought about yet and honestly, I'm still not sure which one is better. As an interior architect, I have to make drawings, scale models etc. When working on a scale model you do need your laptop to check your measurements or which piece of the model goes where. But every time again I am struggling to find a good spot for my laptop. With a corner desk, you can easily use one side for your laptop and the other side as a workspace, problem solved?

Well not really. Since a corner desk is placed in a corner, most of the time this is a spot with less natural light and you need this to be able to focus and work better. So in this aspect, a rectangular desk positioned in the middle of your wall would be better.


Is it too early to put up the Christmas tree?

Well, is it ever too early to put up the Christmas tree? But maybe let's wait until summer is over.


What should you keep in mind when designing a space?

When designing a space you should always keep in mind the needs of the client. As an interior architect, it is important to get to know the client's needs, habits and vision on the space. Then it' up to us to translate these into a beautiful design. Even if this is not your personal taste.


What software do you use to design?

For drawing my designs and plans I use Vectorworks. Here you can also draw very detailed in 3D and make renders out of it. Then I save the render and finish it off in Photoshop CC by adding textures, lighting, people etc.


Who is your favorite designer?

A designer that has been very inspirational to me is the interior architect and entrepreneur Karin Bohn from House of Bohn in Vancouver. In her youtube videos, she gives you a sneak peek in the life of an interior designer, aspires you to be driven, to work hard and have patience. Moreover, her designs are just amazing.


Functionality or aesthetics?

You should always find a balance between functionality and aesthetics. A purely functional space will not feel inviting or as a home. A purely aesthetic place will not work for human needs.

0 opmerkingen
bottom of page