top of page

MY FAVOURITE ZERO WASTE PRODUCTS


Climate change is a real problem that concerns all of us and even if you don't have the resources or opportunities to make a big change right now, there are some small things you can change in your daily life, that will make a difference. In this post I'll share some of my favorite zero waste products, be inspired!

The first change I made in my daily routine is replacing my shampoo and conditioner bottles for these amazing soap and conditioner bars from PAPER & BOO. These will last up to 80 washes and don't contain unnecessary chemicals or water. Regular bottles contain up to 90% water, which leads to bigger packaging and plastic waste. With these shampoo and conditioner bars you'll get the same result (or in my case even better results) than with regular bottles. I chose the lavender one, since this is soothing voor your scalp and after using it for 4 weeks my hair feels and looks healthier than ever before.


For combing my hair I use a wooden comb from Oxfam wereldwinkel. This is not only eco friendly, but is gentler on your hair, adds shine since it helps distributing oils from your scalp to the hair, massages the scalp, triggers hair growth, gets rid of static and many more. If you ask me a wooden comb is just the way to go!


The same goes for your toothbrush. I use a bamboo toothbrush from Hydrophil, which I bought from MIISHA. Most of us will use up to 300 toothbrushes in a lifetime! That is a lot of plastic waste. An electrical toothbrush is already a small improvement but still isn't nearly enough. However, a bamboo toothbrush is a 100% biodegradable and bamboo wood also grows back fast.


The next two bathroom items I replaced are my cotton swabs and pads for a reusable version. I bought a reusable swab from PAPER & BOO which also contains a swab for touching up makeup. Another brand is the LastSwab. The little bumps on the swab give your ear a deeper clean and you can just rinse it instead of throwing it away. The same goes for the reusable cotton pads from MIISHA. They remove your makeup so easily, are bigger than a normal cotton pad and are washable.


Another washable item I own are these beeswax wraps from Plasticfree Amsterdam . These are perfect for storing vegetables and fruit in your fridge or for packing up your lunch. Just lightly rinse them with cold water after use and they are ready to go. I do admit that the wraps smell a little funny, but it never affects the taste of my food. 


Make sure to take a look at the websites I mentioned since there are lots of other eco friendly products that might catch your interest. I am already looking out for a body bar and some dental tabs. But first I'll use up the products that I still have since just throwing away your current products for new eco friendly ones, isn't really that eco friendly either. We have to gradually integrate these products in our lifestyle so we can make a difference together, let's make it!





0 opmerkingen
bottom of page